Website Backup

Présentation

You have two features available for undoing unwanted changes. The quick solution is the Undo/Redo feature, by which you can undo your latest changes on a page. You find two arrows in the top-bar of your editor – with these you can undo and redo. Please keep in mind that this feature only works when you remain on a page. In the moment you switch to another page, the history of your changes is deleted.

The sustainable security feature for your website is, that you can save copies of your website – called “backups” – in the Back up Website section. Backups allow you to restore your website to a previous version in case something goes wrong. They are automatically created at certain times, for example, whenever you publish your website or access Developer Mode. However, we recommend that you get into the habit of manually backing up your website regularly, especially after completing something that took some time (such as importing several images) or whenever you’re satisfied with the look of your website. If you have a blog, it will not be backed up by the website backup, as it has its own backup system located in the blog settings.

Guide

En général, il est recommandé de créer une sauvegarde dans les cas suivants :

  • after you're satisfied with the look of your website,
  • after you've completed a time-consuming task (such as importing several pictures, coding, etc.), or
  • before adding any custom code or doing any big changes to your website.

There is a cap on how many backups you can have saved at any one time. There is a limit of 20 automated backups and 10 manual backups that can be stored. New manual backups override earlier manual backups, therefore your earliest manual backup is deleted when you create a new one. The same applies to automatic backups: The earliest automatic backup is deleted when a new one is created.

The automated backups are created whenever you:

  • republish your website
  • add or remove the Multi-Language feature
  • restore a backup 
  • access Developer Mode
  • change the website layout

Creating a manual backup

  1. In your editor, click on the Settings tab then on Back up Website.
    backup01_en-us.png
  1. Enter a name for your backup.
    backup02_en-us.png
  1. Click Save.

Restoring from a backup

  1. In your editor, click on the Settings tab then on Back up Website.
  2. Click the Restore link next to the backup you would like to use.
    backup03_en-us.png

Deleting a backup

  1. In your editor, click on the Settings tab then on Back up Website.
  2. Click the Delete link next to the backup you would like to remove.
    backup04_en-us.png

Troubleshooting, FAQ, and tips

Je ne dispose d'aucune sauvegarde

While our system automatically creates backups each time a website is published, sometimes it doesn't. We recommend that you make manual backups of your website periodically instead of relying on the automated backup system that’s in place.

Qu'est-ce qui est sauvegardé ?

Images, files, content – everything on your website is backed up, apart from blogs and eCommerce data.

How do I back up a blog?

Blogs have their own backup system located in the blog settings.

I reset my website. Can I restore to a backup?

Unfortunately, resetting a website will reset everything on it, including backups. If you reset your website, you will not be able to back up to before it was reset.

I don't want an automated backup to get deleted

Les sauvegardes automatiques sont souvent retirées de la liste des sauvegardes en raison de leur structure. Si vous souhaitez conserver une sauvegarde automatique, il vous suffit de la restaurer, puis de créer une sauvegarde manuelle à partir de celle-ci.